Home » Galleries » Foreign Nations

NATO, the North Atlantic Alliance

The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) is a military alliance established in Brussels, the capital of Belgium after World War II in order to enhance stability, prosperity and the sense of freedom among its members through a system of mutual security.

Member states of the alliance agree to defend one another in case of an external attack by other nations or by terrorist groups.

The primary purpose of NATO was to defend Western Europe against possible attacks by communist countries, and particularly the Soviet Union.

The first members which signed the treaty were Belgium, Canada, Denmark and France.

Later on, more countries joined, like the USA, Turkey and Greece.

After the fall of the Berlin Wall and the end of the Cold War, NATO has accepted former members of the Warsaw Pact and other countries around the world; and today has 19 members and has expanded its peacekeeping activities outside Europe by deploying troops in war-stricken Afghanistan.

I have created this artwork to honour all member states of NATO and the Greek officers within it.


Click below to see a response letter sent to me from the Office of the Secretary General of NATO in Brussels.